Skip to content
November 30, 2010 / Crystal Rose

Space Invader Crayons Tutorial

So, a certain someone has been requesting Space Invader Crayons for Christmas. (And no, it’s not my daughter! ^_^) I got the webcam set up, grabbed my crayons, and decided to get off my lazy butt and start crafting.

To make them you will need:

  • Broken crayons sans wrappers
  • One empty metal can, well rinsed
  • One pot
  • Something to stir with that won’t melt yet is disposable (I like chopsticks)
  • Molds- I choose my Space Invaders mold. You also can use cupcake tins or cups. Just remember this might stain or be difficult to get out so metal/disposable=good. Also, I risked it and used my ice cube molds. These are not the same as cupcake molds which can go in the oven. Ice cube trays might melt. Anything meant for the oven won’t. Anyways I was lucky and my tray gave me no problems.

Separate your crayons by color and add to your tin. I’d suggest starting with yellow or white if you’re using it, basically the light color (which I forgot to do). Were I to redo it I’d work from yellow to orange to red, etc. Throw some water in your bigger pot, enough so that your tin won’t be bobbing around and add your can of crayons. Heat over medium-low. You want your water quite hot but just below simmering. Now just wait and let them melt, stirring from time to time.

When all of the crayons are melted (check the bottomĀ  for any stubborn ones) take your can and pour into your molds. Let sit until cooled completely and pop out when done. To make layered crayons just add a small amount of color to each mold at a time and let cool before adding the next.

Now, what if you want some funky swirled ones like these?

This is where the oven-proof mold comes in.

Dump your color mix in like so and heat in the oven at 150 until completely melted. Then just let cool as usual. I have to warn you though, these ones are trickier. Depending on your crayon quality you might get a crayon chunk that refuses to melt causing your finished crayon to crack or a layer of wax on the top from the cheaper crayons. I’d suggest using only crayola or something similar with this method, preferably newer crayons rather than the ones from grandpas basement. That’s just my two cents.

Then there you have it- brand spanking new crayons in whatever nifty design you choose!

Here’s Am’s Christmas set. I used a silicone mold I bought last year from Targets dollar section.


Don’t you just love those colors?


Find me at:

Gold Star Wednesday

Money Saving Mom

Under the Table & Dreaming

Whatever You Want Wednesday

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. katie@Impatientlyprayingforpatience / Nov 30 2010 10:29 pm

    Just wanted you to know that you won my giveaway!! I will let winterberry cottage know and they should be contacted you soon.

  2. valerie @ A Nation of Moms / Dec 3 2010 1:53 pm

    Love these as stocking stuffers. I have had this idea in the back burner for months but haven’t tried it yet. But I will for Christmas. however, I must add that it doesn’t work with washable crayons.

    Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Do-It-Yourself: Gifts For Children :: Money Saving MomĀ®
  2. Last-Minute Homemade Gift and Treat Ideas « Striving: Proverbs 31

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 373 other followers

