Skip to content
November 14, 2012 / Crystal Rose

Back to My Roots

So obviously that last post marked the beginning of a blog vacation instead of the awesome series I wanted it to be. That gypsy thing just kind of tanked. I’m all gypsy’ed out.

After giving it careful thought I’ve decided its time for me to come back to my roots. A lot has changed over the past few months. Our family has changed. I got caught up living and let my geeky love fall to the wayside.

I’ve been thinking a lot about that, about the person I want to be. I think I was trying too hard to become like the women I admire. The reality is, I’m not them. I don’t find fulfillment in the same areas. I am a geek. I love our culture. I might be getting older but that doesn’t mean I’m old. I don’t think I have to outgrow what I enjoy. So what if I find the original Pokemon amusing. Who cares if I think robots are cute? I can finish my degree, raise a child, AND be the person I am.

I’ve been struggling lately to fit the “mom” mold. Only recently I realized there’s no such thing. I’m never going to be like some of those other mothers out there- and I don’t need to be. There’s nothing wrong with them. There’s nothing wrong with me. We just are who we are. I’d like to think we can learn to coexist. Maybe I might even be able to fit in without compromising my individuality. I doubt its as difficult as I’ve been making it on myself.

And so, it is with great joy and anticipation that I now return you to your regularly scheduled broadcasts….

^__^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers

